“I swear, it’s as if you go out searching for ways to complicate your life.”

I heard the judgement and disappointment in his voice.

“I don’t know what to tell you, it.. just.. kinda.. happened. I don’t know.”

“I don’t understand how these things just happen to you. I mean, first Richard, now this… Honestly mate, what goes through your head?”

I stood there in silence, unable to meet his gaze. Richard had forever been my moral compass; my anchor. I knew I should have told him earlier, but I couldn’t. That should’ve been the first red herring.

What was I thinking?

I knew there would be no happy ending. Someone, at some point was bound to get hurt and I could deny it all I wanted, but I knew that that someone would inevitably be me. Maybe that’s why I didn’t tell anyone. Who would support such masochism?

I stood before my best friend, as I had many times before, broken pieces of my hear in hand, waiting for him to help me put them together once again.

 

 

