Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I can bank on my mind wandering to the past whenever my future looks daunting. I am very (almost horribly) comparative that way. Where was I? Where am I? Where am I going? What are “they” doing? Over the years I’ve learned to frame these questions in such a way that every answer will only propel me forward. Sometimes, negative reinforcement works better. There is a darkness. It’s mine and mine alone. Without it, I am incomplete. With it, I have the capacity to cultivate greatness. Life is struggle. Life is adversity. Life is joy. What propels me forward is not just the bright future that awaits me, but the dark past that berates me. I love both, fiercely.

My journey will remain unfinished because there is no finish line.

The Philotherapist

About 7 weeks ago, I embarked on a journey… one that put my passion for being fit, healthy and pushing my body’s limits into high gear. It’s been a huge part of my life; it’s rightfully titled, a lifestyle. As such, many of the people in my life share this passion. I surrounded myself with women who had what I aspired to, many of them recognized, embraced and encouraged this in me.

Late last year one of these women did a fitness photo shoot, a few months later, another one did. These women are 10 and 20 years older than I am. It sparked something. What motivated me was not inspiration, but desperation. If these women could do it at 33, 43, what the heck was I doing at 23?? … “6 weeks” one of them told me. 6 weeks to be “picture ready”. No fat burners, no fad diets, no shakes…

View original post 1,339 more words

