I’m the best there is at what I do, and what I do best isn’t very nice. I’m the Wolverine.”
– James Howlett aka Logan, the Wolverine

20120726-052219.jpg

“One destructive habit is to constantly compare your life
and yourself to other people and their lives
.”
– Henrik Edberg (positivity blog)

I have spent A LOT of time trying to gain the respect and credibility of certain people over the years, putting them on pedestals; comparing, contrasting and condemning. It’s foolish, it made me feel incredibly small, insufficient and inadequate. Nothing was ever good enough. All of that bred negativity and copious amounts of negative self talk…

“It took me a long time not to judge myself through someone else’s eyes.”
– Sally Field

The only thing I resented more than the people I couldn’t “win over” was myself. I became my own worst enemy. It’s arguably been one of my biggest mistakes into adulthood; not having faith in myself and seeking worth and value OUTSIDE of myself. I didn’t find it & I lost myself because “it’s” not OUT there, it’s IN you.

I promise you.

You won’t find it outside of yourself. Your best friend can’t give it to you, your lover, your brother, your mother, your father, your work, none of it will fill that void. You have to be your own hero, be your own rock. Motivate yourself from within, it’s there, it’s in you. Open your eyes. You have to see it, you have to do it and you have to fill yourself with compassion and love for yourself, by yourself.

“It’s hard to fight a enemy that has outposts in your head.”
– Sally Kempton

I know it sounds very cliche to “love yourself” … but it really comes down to just that. If you are sure and secure and happy in and on your own, it won’t matter who’s in your life, who’s not in your life, who left, who came, who died, who might as well have died, who read your story, who didn’t, who cared, who cursed.. none of it will matter.

This is YOUR story.
You are the hero and the villain.
It’s Your choice.
Your consequence.
Your life.

How will yours end?

