Ironically, I think it’s one of the biggest truths of life. It’s not cynicism, its reality and I’m becoming increasing aware of the reality we live in. Either that, or I’ve just managed to surrounded myself with very ‘real‘ people.

Call it whatever you want; selective omission, willful ignorance, negligence, witholding information, white lies, manipulation of truth, deception, dishonesty…

Justify it however you want; saving/sparing someone’s feelings, the lesser of two evils, protection, self-preservation, revenge, retaliation, intention to mislead…

But it’s not the deception that upsets us, is it? It’s that we were deceived. Friedrich Nietzsche said, “I’m not upset that you lied to me, I’m upset that from now on I can’t believe you” and isn’t that the truth.

So, what’s the solution? Going forward, what do we do? What have we learnt?

When someone shows you their true colours, don’t try to paint another picture.

They say the truth is bitter, but deception ain’t much better.

20120320-091429.jpg

