We’ve all heard the saying before, “ask and you shall receive,” or the equally infamous, “be careful what you wish for.”  These phrases have primarily been understood in a metaphysical/larger than life sense, but there is a fair bit of truth to these statements at ‘ground’ level.

When I decided I wanted to get serious about personal and professional development, I started with the experts. [Sidenote: When it comes to succeeding in something my approach has always been to find someone who’s already doing what I want to do (and is doing it well), find out how they did it, make it my own and try to make it better, giving credit and paying it forward along the way].  I read books, listened to audio books, and discussed what I learned with whoever would listen.

One of the first of the ‘experts’ was Anthony Robbins, the following is a take on something I picked up from his Personal Power program.

We all have this ‘inner dialogue’ with ourselves, whether it’s something as nonchalant as “what am I going to wear to work today?” or something a little more sensitive like, “what did I do to deserve this?” .. When we ask questions, our brain goes to work trying to find the answers. Neurons fire across synapses and that inner dialogue responds with, “a pair of black dress pants and that new shirt I bought last week…” When we ask ourselves questions of the latter nature however, it is framed to encourage a negative thought cycle.  We are essentially asking our minds to find any and every detail pertaining to what iss wrong with us and why we deserve whatever wrong has happened to us.  RED FLAG!  How is that going to help the situation? … It’s not.

Positive breeds positive!

How we frame our questions is incredibly important. It sets our thought cycle in motion. We can positively frame questions (“what can I do to make this situation better?”) and our mind will go to work and try to find us answers. Or, we can negatively frame questions (“what else could go wrong?!”) and let our minds chase that thought and ruminate over it.

So the next time you engage in an inner dialogue, be more conscious of the conversation you have with yourself and ask yourself positively-framed, solution-oriented questions.  We’ve got all the answers we need within us. It’s just a matter of asking the right questions…

